Week 6- Art Inspired Short Story 

This week there weren’t many art exhibits that spoke to me. I was more drawn to looking at the individual zines and flip books. I found this piece of art in a flip book made of pictures cut up and pasted onto other pictures. I liked the sort of surrealism of the way these turned out. 

Short Story

I was always thinking of my past, living in it in my mind. It was something I was never going to escape. I loved the good times that I used to have and was afraid I would never have fun like that again. I went through my days looking at my watch, seeing time pass me by as I dragged through my days. I did things to try and have fun again but I always caught myself thinking of the past. My daily strolls became more gray to the point where I did not want to take them anymore. I was forcing my laughter more often than not. One day I was at my wits end, I went to the beach to put my feet in the sand one last time. I looked in my watch to see the time and the people laughing in the reflection of the glass. In that moment I realized my past is just that, the past. There was no reason to stay worrying about being happy like in the past. Live in the present and you will be. 

Leave a Reply

